Reading Series Three: Foundational Skills Teacher's Guides

Write a Review
Add to Cart






Grade Level, ISBN, Discounting, Disable add to cart,


Grade Level:
second and third grade students on grade level and older students in need of intervention
Volume discounts are automatically applied based on your shopping cart total.


Reading Series Three Foundational Skills Teacher’s Guides contain explicit, systematic, book-by-book instruction that supports teachers in the delivery of evidence-based foundational skills routines with a focus on the vowel team syllable and reading and spelling words with its three variations (vowel digraph, variant vowel digraph, and diphthong), as well as reading and spelling words with vowel spellings that have unexpected pronunciations. As students become adept at recognizing types of vowel team syllables, they will be able to decode more words. This will increase the number of words they can read by sight and analogy. As students advance, they will read words by recognizing larger orthographic units (such as syllables and rimes). This developing ability allows students to read with greater efficiency than is possible when reading sound-by-sound. The instruction also includes the scaffolded analysis of inflectional suffixes and the teacher-directed analysis of derivational affixes. Once students have been taught these important skills, they can apply what they know to Reading Series Three books. Foundational Skills Teacher's Guides include book-by-book progress monitoring assessments and periodic formative assessments.

Includes: 2 binders containing Reading Series Three Foundational Skills Teacher’s Guides (one guide for each book in the series), formative assessments, and blackline masters

Samples of Reading Series Three materials can be accessed using the “See Samples” links below.

Additional information about Flyleaf products can be found in the Resources drop-down menu; for more information about Reading Series Three Foundational Skills Teacher’s Guides, see the Reading Series Three sections of the Foundational Skills Scope & Sequence and Teacher’s Guide Overviews.

Reading Series Three Phonics Scope and Sequence for decodable books

Butterfly Life Cycle Samples Bon-Bon the Downtown Cow Samples